Do Judge These Books By Their Covers: Science Fiction and Fantasy Edition

pretty books

The Science Fiction and Fantasy books used to be the worst offenders when it came to bad covers, but times have changed. These books represent the best of the best of cover art in these genres (and what’s in between the covers isn’t too bad, either). Enjoy!

leviathanLeviathan by Scott Westerfeld (Jacket design and illustration by Sammy Yuen Jr.)

This gorgeous cover was the very reason why I decided I needed to purchase this book, even without knowing a thing about the author. Too bad the cover art was redesigned for the sequels, so I will forever be deprived of a matching set.

Bonus feature: the brilliant caricature map and illustrations by Keith Thompson.

night circusThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Jacket design by Pei Loi Koay)

It was this captivating cover that convinced me I needed to pick up this book immediately.

seraphinaSeraphina by Rachel Hartman (Jacket artwork by Andrew Davidson)

I love dragon books, but even if I didn’t, the wood-block design of the cover would have drawn me in.

the girlThe Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente (Jacket illustration by Ana Juan; jacket design by Rich Deas)

If the delightful title of this book doesn’t make you want to read this book, the whimsical artwork surely will.

the thiefThe Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (Jacket art by Vince Natale)

Years ago, I saw the cover art for the fourth book in this series, A Conspiracy of Kings, and I knew I had to get my grabby hands on the rest of this series. I’m so glad I did, because the books are as amazing as the artwork and Ms. Turner has become one of my favorite authors. 

raven boysThe Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (Jacket artwork by Adam S. Doyle)

Adam S. Doyle’s work is so amazing, I wish I could hang it on my wall (what do you know, that’s sort of a possibility with his original artwork). He’s also done the artwork for the paperback edition of Ms. Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races.

kissThe Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson (Jacket art by Rodrigo Adolfo)

The moody, atmospheric design of this cover perfectly captures the essence of this book.

redRed Rising by Pierce Brown (Jacket design by Faceout Studio, Charles Brock; jacket illustration by Sail)

Sometimes simple is best, and there’s something about the bold black and red of this design that just works

golemThe Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker (Jacket design by Richard Ljoenes)

The delicate blue and gold color palette make this cover art particularly striking. Every time I came across it in a review magazine, the cover caught my eye. Apparently, the page edges of the hardcover edition have been dyed blue, which makes it extra lovely, I’m sure.

shades of greyShades of Grey by Jasper Fforde (Jacket art and design by Stephen Wilson)

Jasper Fforde’s covers are pretty universally awesome, but the bright colors make this one particularly so. Fitting, given the subject matter of the book.

Leave a Reply

